About City Government

The City Manager, who is appointed by City Council, is responsible for all City departments except the appointed City Attorney.

The City Council legislates policies, enacts ordinances, approves the budget, and appoints advisory boards and commissions. The seven-member City Council includes six members, elected by district, for four-year staggered terms on a nonpartisan basis, plus the Mayor who is elected at-large and serves a term of two years.

Our current City Hall was built in 1964 and an addition was constructed in 1975. Our old City Hall no longer exists, but we have some records of the building dating back to 1907. It was demolished shortly after our current City Hall was opened in 1964.

Current City Council agendas and minutes can be found here.