Elections Information

The City of Salinas is a Charter City with a Council-City Manager form of government. City voters elect six (6) council members by district and the Mayor at-large in November of even-numbered years. Three (3) council member seats are to be voted on every two (2) years. 

Council members serve a four (4) year term and the Mayor serves a two (2) year term. 

Upcoming Elections 

Election Date Seats up for Election
 November 5, 2024      District 1, 3*, 4, 6 and Mayor

*Special Consolidated Election for a two-year term

Nomination Period 

This is the period when individuals may officially be issued nomination papers, circulate them for signatures and file for candidacy. The nomination period opens July 15, 2024 and closes on August 9, 2024 at 4:00 P.M. If the incumbent does not file, or fails to qualify, during the regular filing period, the filing period for that office will be extended to other candidates until 4:00 P.M. on Wednesday, August 14, 2024. 

Candidates must contact the City Clerk to schedule an appointment to be issued the necessary forms and nomination papers to run for office, and a second appointment to file their completed nomination papers and other required documents.  

2024 Candidate Guidelines.pdf(PDF, 749KB)

Issued Nomination Forms


Dennis Donohue

Ernesto Gonzalez Garcia

Chris Barrera

District 4    

Gloria De La Rosa

Orlando Osornio - Qualified

Albert Lomeli

 District 1   

Alex Ayala Alejandro

Jose Luis Barajas

District 6 

 Anthony Rocha

Aurelio Salazar Jr.

 District 3

Cary Swensen

Margaret D'Arrigo - Qualified       

David Maisonneuve - Qualified